Go to main content

The Culture of Taiwan Austronesian

In recent years, the number of officially recognized indigenous tribes has increased from nine to 16. They include the Thao, Kamalan (Kavalan), Truku (Taroko), Sakizaya, Sediq, Yami (Tao), Bunun, Atayal, Saisiyat, Tsou, Amis, Puyuma, Rukai, Paiwan, Hla'alua and Kanakanavu tribes, all of which belong to the Austronesian language family. This exhibition area introduces the history and traditions of these tribes and sheds light on their current situations and expectations for the future to highlight the distinct and diverse cultures of Taiwan.

2022/09/28 Updated